Brief Detail of the Geography of District Kangra

By | April 8, 2020

Note: This article is written from an exam point of view only. 

Kangra district is bounded on the North by Lahaul-Spiti and Chamba, South by Hamirpur, East by Kullu and Mandi, South-West by Una, and North-West by Gurdaspur (Punjab).

The total area of Kangra district is 5739 sq. Km (10.31%) of the state, ranks fourth among the districts.

Population wise (1,507,223) Kangra is the biggest district which is 21.98% of the total population of the state of Himachal Pradesh.

Kangra valley is the meeting point of Eastern and Western monsoon, which causes heavy rainfall in Dharmshala and the adjoining areas.

The Dhauladhar:

  • It starts from the right bank of river Beas in Kullu, forms the boundary of district Kangra with Kullu to a distant point below Sari Pass, then enters Bara Bhangal area, thereafter runs parallel to Hathi Dhar which forms a boundary between Chamba and Kangra districts.
  • The Paprola range separates BirBhangal from Kangra valley and after crossing Binwa, it enters in the Mandi district where it is called as Sikandar Dhar.

Stay updated with us:

Click here to join our Telegram Channel

Click here to Join our Facebook Group

The Beas River:

  • It rises from Pir Panjal range near Rohtang Pass (3978 mts).
  • Binwa is a tributary of Beas River which rises above Baijnath and joins Beas above Sandhol.
  • Neugal meets River Beas opposite to Tira Sujanpur.
  • Chakki River forms the boundary of District Kangra with District Pathankot of Punjab.
  • River Beas flows through district Kullu, Mandi, Hamirpur, and Kangra. [River System is discussed in detail in a separate chapter]

Kangra district in the making: 

  • Lahaul-Spiti was also a part of Kangra upto 1960 D.
  • Kullu was a Tehsil of Kangra district upto 1962 D.
  • Kangra became the district of Himachal Pradesh on 1st November 1966 on the recommendation of the Shah Commission.
  • The present district of Kangra came into existence on 1st September 1972 by carving out Una and Hamirpur as separate districts.

Read also: History of District Kangra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 2 MB. You can upload: image. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here