Physiographic Divisions of Himachal Pradesh

By | March 31, 2020

Himachal Pradesh is almost wholly mountainous with altitudes ranging from 350 meters to 6,975 meters above the mean sea level.

It is located between Latitude 300 22’ 40’’ N to 33O 12’ 20’’ N and Longitude 75O 45’ 55’’ E to 79O 04’ 20’’ E.

It has a deeply dissected topography, complex geological structure and rich temperate flora in the sub-tropical latitudes.

Physiographically, the State can be divided into five zones – viz.

  1. Wet Sub-temperate zone
  2. Humid Sub-temperate zone
  3. Dry temperate-alpine High lands
  4. Humid Sub-tropical zone
  5. Sub-Humid Sub-tropical zone

Wet Sub-temperate zone comprises Palampur and Dharamsala of Kangra District, Jogindernagar area of Mandi district and Dalhousie area of Chamba district.

Humid Sub-temperate zone comprises the districts of Kullu, Shimla, parts of Mandi, Solan, Chamba, Kangra, and Sirmour.

Dry temperate-Alpine High lands include major parts of Lahaul-Spiti, Pangi and Kinnaur.

Humid Sub-tropical zone consists of district Sirmaur, Bhattiyat valley of district Chamba, Nalagarh area of district Solan, Dehragopipur and Nurpur areas of district Kangra.

Sub-humid tropical zone Sirmour and Indora area of district Kangra.

Read also: History of Himachal Pradesh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 2 MB. You can upload: image. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here