Steps Involved in Building Himachal Pradesh as a State

By | November 7, 2016
    • The total area (presently) of Himachal Pradesh is 55,673 km
    • Himachal Pradesh came into being a Chief Commissioner Province of Indian Union on 15 April 1948.
    • Four districts of the Chief Commissioner Province were Chamba, Mahasu (Presently Shimla and Solan), Mandi and Sirmaur with an area of 27,169 sq. km. First Chief Commissioner of Himachal Pradesh was N.C. Mehta.
    • Himachal Pradesh made a Part-C state in 1951. Chief Commissioner was replaced was Lt. Governor. The first such Lt. Governor was Major General M.S. Himmat Singh.
    • On 1 July 1954, the neighboring Part-C state Bilaspur was integrated with Himachal Pradesh as 5th district and the area became 28,237 sq. km (27,169+1068=28,237). Himachal Pradesh maintained its status of Part-C state of Indian Union till 1956.
    • From 1956-1971, Himachal Pradesh continued as Union Territory of India.
    • In 1 May 1960, Chinni Tehsil of Mahasu District named as Kinnaur and became the 6th district of Himachal Pradesh.
  • On 1st November 1966, new districts were added in Himachal Pradesh. They were Kullu, Lahaul & Spiti, Kangra and Shimla.
  • On 25 January 1971, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi inaugurated the Himachal Pradesh as 18th state of the Union of India and area wise it became 14th state of India. S. Chakarvarti was appointed as first Governor of Himachal Pradesh.
  • On 1st September 1972, two more districts were added named Hamirpur and Una. Solan came into existence as a district in the same year.
  • First General Election to the 36 member Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly was held in November 1951 and Congress emerged victorious with 24 seats. On March 24 1952, Dr. Y. S. Parmar became the first Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh.
  • Old Himachal – Chamba, Sirmaur, Mandi, Bilaspur and Shimla except capital town.
  • New Himachal – Kangra, Kullu, Lahaul-Spiti, Hamirpur and Una.

Liked the article? We’re a non-profit website. Make a donation and help us build our work.

One thought on “Steps Involved in Building Himachal Pradesh as a State


    area of Bilaspur district is 1167 sq meter and area of four district was 27018 so on 1st july 1954 area of HP was 27018+1167= 28185


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 2 MB. You can upload: image. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here