Tag Archives: HPGK

History of Tira Sujanpur Fort – Himachal Pradesh

By | June 23, 2020

Sujanpur bears its name from “Sajjanpur” which means the town of honest and gentle people. The word “Tira” was prefixed later when Maharaja Sansar Chand Katoch moved his capital from Kangra to this place and built a fort at the top of the hill called “Tira”. Tira Sujanpur was a refuge for Sansar Chand, a… Read More »

Census 2011 – District Solan Highlights

By | June 1, 2020

Solan district occupies the 4th rank among the districts in terms of population. Solan district stands at 2nd position in terms of the urban population in the state. Solan district occupies 11th position in sex ratio by registering 880 females per 1000 males against a state average of 972 females. This sex ratio has slightly… Read More »

“Goddess Shoolini” Temple at Solan – Himachal Pradesh

By | June 1, 2020

Solan a very beautiful and mesmerizing town of Solan district derived its name from the Goddess Shoolini. The principle Goddess of this region is considered as the incarnation of Goddess Durga. Similarly, the district of Solan named after the Solan town. Solan is also known as “The Mushroom City of India” because of the high… Read More »

Economy of District Sirmaur – Himachal Pradesh General Studies

By | May 29, 2020

Nahan Foundry Ltd. was set up for the first time in 1875 A.D. has now been taken over by the Himachal Pradesh Government in 1964. Kinnauri Arkel and Lincon Boon are varieties of peas. Solan Gola is a variety of tomato in the district. There are five seed Multiplication Farms at Bhagani and Daula Kuan… Read More »

Himachal GK MCQs Series – 5

By | March 1, 2019

1. Which republic did Divodasa rule? Bharat Magadh Moray Arya 2. When was Brahmpura, the capital of Chamba state, founded by Meru (Maru)? 350 AD 750 AD 850 AD 550 AD 3. In ancient times, state under Katoch dynasty was also popularly called by different names such as: Susharmpur Trigartpur Bhimkot All of these 4.… Read More »

Himachal GK MCQs Series – 4

By | February 18, 2019

1. The battle between Aryans and non-Aryans is famous as: Battle of Dashrajya Battle of Dasdes Battle of moray None of these 2. Who founded the Chamba state? Maru Haru Ram Shyam 3 Who had built the famous Kangra Fort? Susharma Chandra Pradumn Aaram shah Sansar Chand 4. Who Led the Naseeri battalion in Kasauli… Read More »

Himachal GK MCQs Series – 3

By | January 9, 2019

1. Who was the leader of Dasas or Non-Aryans? Shambar Divodas Bharat None of the above 2. Sahil Varman abdicated his throne in favour of his son named: Dinkar Varman Yugankar Varman Meru Varman Laxman Varman 3. During the Muslim period, Nagarkot was known as: Kot-Dwar Kot-Trigarta Kot-Kangra Kot-Rupi 4. The capital of Mandi state… Read More »