Brief History of District Una

By | November 7, 2016

The present district Una comprises of two princely states viz. Jaswan and Kutlehr.

Jaswan state:

  • The old name of Una was Jaswan.

  • The capital of Jaswan was Rajpur near Amb which was founded by Purab Chand in 1170 A.D.

Kutlehr state:

  • Formerly princely state Kutlehr is a part of Una district.
  • Kutlehr was smallest of all principalities in the Kangra area.
  • The capital of Kutlehr state was Kot-Kutlehr.

Other important information about district Una:

  • Headquarter: Una
  • Altitude: 750 meters
  • Languages: Pahari (Punjabi), Punjabi, Hindi.
  • The district Una lies between North latitude 31°21’ to 31°50’ and East longitude 71°55’ to 76°28’.
  • The district Una was created in 1972 A.D.
  • Jaswan Dun valley lies in Una District.
  • The only river which flows through the district Una is Swan.

Liked the article? We’re a non-profit website. Make a donation and help us build our work.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *